Connected by Consciousness

I watched Oprah’s Super Soul Sunday today and was amazed, elated and validated by the story her guest had to tell.  Neurosurgeon Eben Alexander sat down with Oprah Winfrey to discuss his book “Proof of Heaven.”  You may see the full episode here.

I have believed since I was a child that our true self is part of a greater source that flows in, through and around all that is.  One of the things that sparked that thought for me was Dr. Seuss’ “Horton Hears  A Who.”  The story helped me to consider that the world I perceived was not necessarily all there was.  It helped me to understand that life is delicately intertwined and infinitely deeper than I had been taught.

This beginning of my spiritual quest started me off on an inquisitive search that led to a lifetime of hunger for knowledge.  It wasn’t so much that I needed to know what or who “God” was, or even if there was a Heaven or Hell.  It was a need to understand the reason we would exist at all.  I believed that there had to be a reason.  One thing I did know to the farthest depths of my being was that we don’t just cease to exist when our body dies.  The more I looked into the science of our world, the more of a spiritual connection I realized.  Scientifically I believed in the quantum aspect of our existence to the extent that every particle we are composed of simply takes another form.  This would mean that our consciousness would be embedded in those particles.

I’ve always believed in the validity of near death experiences.  Dr. Alexander’s story gave it true credibility.  That was a very cool thing to know.  I haven’t read the book yet, but I intend to.  The closer science and spirituality get to each other, the stronger is my belief in the omnipotent Universal Mind.

 

Author: Cheryl Hunter

Eve's Crossing is a state of mind. Cheryl Hunter is the editor and creator of Eve's Crossing.

Leave a Reply

